South Atlantic Conference Women's Volleyball

SAC 2023 Volleyball Award Winners and All-Conference

SAC 2023 Volleyball Award Winners and All-Conference

The SAC 2023 annual volleyball awards have been announced.

Nov 15, 2023 by Nicole Beckelman
SAC 2023 Volleyball Award Winners and All-Conference

Wingate middle blocker Maggie Young was voted the 2023 South Atlantic Conference Volleyball Player of the Year, while Mars Hill’s middle hitter Katilyn Grant was named the Conference’s Freshman of the Year, and Anderson head coach Todd Hay was named Coach of the Year, the conference office announced today.

Young, a graduate student from Waxhaw, N.C., leads the SAC and ranks seventh in the nation in hitting percentage. Wingate’s all-time leader in career hitting percentage, Young is a key factor in Wingate ranking third in the nation in hitting percentage. She also ranks second on the team in aces and blocks, helping the Bulldogs rank in the top 20 in the nation in opponents’ hitting percentage. Young was named the SAC Offensive Player of the Week twice this season for her efforts in matches played during the week of October 2nd and November 13th.

Grant, a freshman from Alabaster, Ala., ranks among the top of the SAC with a .363 hitting percentage on the season. In her 25 matches played, she averaged 2.46 kills per set and recorded 214 kills, 12 assists, 37 digs, 61 blocks for 253.5 points.

Todd Hay earns his third South Atlantic Conference Coach of the Year honors after leading the Trojans to a 16-2 SAC record and a 24-4 overall record. The Trojans lead the SAC in kills (1429) and rank second in hitting percentage (.259), assists (1295), and points (1780.5). Under his guidance, Anderson is currently ranked No. 3 in the NCAA Southeast Region (as of Nov. 5) and earned the No. 2 seed in the SAC Volleyball Tournament.

Joining Young on the first team were Lenoir-Rhyne’s Emmaleigh Allen and Kathy Peter, Tusculum’s Emiah Burrowes, Anderson’s Jaelyn Grimm and Jenna Long, Mars Hill’s Laela Jimenez, and Carson-Newman’s Julia Wheeler.

2023 SAC Volleyball All-Conference

First Team

Emmaleigh Allen, Lenoir-Rhyne

Emiah Burrowes, Tusculum

Jaelyn Grimm, Anderson

Laela Jimenez, Mars Hill (L)

Jenna Long, Anderson

Kathy Peter, Lenoir-Rhyne

Julia Wheeler, Carson-Newman

Maggie Young, Wingate

Second Team

Brantley Chipley, Anderson

Katilyn Grant, Mars Hill

Riley Hill, Catawba (L)

Emily Johnson, Wingate

Sadie Kluner, Anderson

Kristen Moehring, Lincoln Memorial

Amber Rowoldt, Wingate

Gabby Saye, Wingate

Third Team

Madison Adkins, Tusculum

Aly Freeland, Tusculum

Sydney Karjala, Lenoir-Rhyne

Ketura Margaret, Lincoln Memorial

Maggie Mullen, Wingate (L)

Tatum Riddle, Limestone

Rylie Sargent, Anderson

Tabitha Wheeler, Anderson


Katilyn Grant, Mars Hill

Riley Hill, Catawba

Sydney Karjala, Lenoir-Rhyne

Sydney Morland, Wingate

Caley Sosnowski, Tusculum

Maya Van Heyst, Wingate

Player of the Year

Maggie Young, Wingate

Freshman of the Year

Katilyn Grant, Mars Hill

Coach of the Year

Todd Hay, Anderson